Imagine A Future, directed by Lisa Cortes and Shola Lynch, to air on BET tonight

2 comments

Imagine A Future, directed by Lisa Cortés and Shola Lynch, to air on BET tonight
Posted by Wilson Morales

July 5, 2013

Cortés Films’ latest producing project, Imagine A Future, which was directed by Lisa Cortés and Shola Lynch, will broadcast on BET on July 5 at 10pm ET/9pm CT and on Centric on July 6 at 9pm ET/8pm CT.

Presented by BET and My Black Is Beautiful and executive produced by Beverly Bond, the documentary examines beauty and self-esteem issues that challenge black women and girls primarily through the eyes of Janet Goldsboro, a teenager from Dover, Delaware. As Goldsboro travels from her hometown to South Africa, she makes an emotional journey from doubt to self-acceptance that is inspiring.

Featuring additional interviews with Professor/author Melissa Harris-Perry, actresses Tatayana Ali and Gabourey Sidibe, poet Elizabeth Alexander and others, it is my hope that the film will serve as a tangible tool aimed at inciting a dialogue around beauty and be a catalyst to empower and connect black women around the world.

Following the premiere of Imagine a Future, BET will air Girl Talk, a summit-style beauty discussion featuring Imagine a Future star Janet Goldsboro, the documentary director and producer team and African-American female leaders.


Leave a Reply

Archives